Facebook is a popular free social media networking website. It allows users to create profiles, upload photos and video, send messages and keep in touch with friends and family, discover what’s going on in the world and share and express what matters to them.Facebook can also be used as a medium for creating brand awareness in addition to a company’s corporate website.
While it has benefits, it may also have very negative effects that could be irreversible. The main negative effects that could arise from using Facebook include loss of sleep, depression, putting one in a dangerous situation, etc. These negative side of Facebook may bring up the idea of deleting the Facebook account permanently in the user’s mind. If you are in such a situation and you want to delete the account permanently, we are here to help you by giving you all the information you needed about deleting a Facebook account permanently.
First of all, you have to know the difference between deleting and deactivating a Facebook account. If you deactivate your account, you can reactivate it whenever you want. The only thing is that people can’t search for you or see your Facebook Timeline. Some information like messages you’ve sent, may remain visible. But if you delete your account, you can’t regain access to your account. It can take up to 90 days for your data that’s stored in backup systems to be deleted. If you log in during this period, the deletion is cancelled.
Before going to the steps to delete facebook account, you must be aware of the effects of permanently deleting your Facebook account. They include:
- You won’t be able to reactivate your account.
- You won’t be able to retrieve anything you have addedsuch as your profile, photos, posts, videos, and everything else.
- Apps that use your Facebook account won’t be accessible through Facebook Login anymore.
- You won’t be able to use Facebook Messenger.
- Some information, like messages you sent to friends,won’t be fully deleted and will remain visible to them.
To permanently delete Facebook account, follow the steps given below.
- Click the arrow in the top-right corner.
- Scroll down and tap “Settings”.
- Click on “Your Facebook Information” available at the left side of the settins page.
- Then click on “Delete Your Account and Information”.
- A page will appear with suggestions for deactivating your account or downloading your information. You can choose either of them or you can ignore both and click on “Delete Account”.
- Enter your password and tap “Submit”.
You can cancel your account deletion within 30 days from the day you initiated the deletion. Do not sign in to your account during this time unless you wish to cancel the deletion request.